release date: 10/2012
Jazz Haus Musik Köln (JHM 210)


Christina Fuchs – soprano saxophone, bass clarinet
Romy Herzberg – double bass

1 Reichensperger Hall (Fuchs) 7:46
2 Modul (Herzberg) 5:38
3 Zanshin (Herzberg) 6:04
4 Nachtzug (Fuchs) 5:06
5 Sur En (Herzberg) 9:24
6 Pasko (Herzberg) 5:32
7 Sansula (Fuchs) 4:54
8 Shakuhachi (Fuchs) 7:57

Liner notes

... virtuoso dialogue, rousing enthusiasm, they have been playing together for 20 years as a working band and part of their personal self-concept, perhaps in the form of a life-long-lasting musical relationship. It is plain to see: this artistic affinity, sometimes turbulent career in musical understanding and communication.
The present recording of the historical entrance hall of the Oberlandesgericht/Cologne — a grand building — documented an unusual anniversary concert: the compositions were written for musical parameters of the extreme acoustics ( the room's 12- second reverberation). It worked. The unusual situation supports the sound, as the duo's third partner. It allows time for reflection and amplifies the meditative character of KontraSax.
Georg Ruby